new to electronics - 10 inputs from 2 boxes to be switched to third box with input selection indication

danadak

Joined Mar 10, 2018
4,057
TS you need to provide a better description of the goals.

1) The signals, what is their range of frequency and voltage ? What are they ? Sensors ?
2) What are you doing with the signals once they are selected from Box A or B ?
3) Do you have an oscilloscope, DVM ?
4) Have you ever done anything with stuff like Arduino ?
5) Is your Dad experienced in electroncis at any level ?

Regards, Dana.
 

Thread Starter

chrisnewkid

Joined Apr 21, 2020
11
hello

currently all data is either on or off, or a voltage - no sensors

data or signals / voltage from a or b is used to display a light (using the signal / voltage coming from a or b)

no oscillscope - don't know what is dvm. sorry

i have a multimeter - astro ai

no experience with android - my daddy and i am watching some vids as we are interested

sorry my dad is not experienced with electronics or electrical - he is a music teacher helping me with my studies and hobbies.

everyoe - i think it complicated - please ignore this message from me. i don't want to create hassel for you. thank you for trying to help - i will learn more and may be post again here. i apolgize for mistake from me.
 

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
25,911
No need to go away -- it's a back and forth. There are things we need (or should) know and you don't yet know what those are, so you aren't telling them to us. That's fine. We don't know what you are really trying to do, in detail, so we don't know what to ask, exactly. That's fine. We'll each ask and answer questions and after a while we will be pretty firmly on the same page and you will have learned quite a bit along the way.

I think it's great that you are doing this, particularly at your age, and we want to encourage you.

There are multiple ways to do what you want -- and we are starting to get a feel for what that is -- and each has some pros and cons. Part of the choice also comes down to the way that you want to do it -- what you find interesting and cool.
 

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
6,504
hello

currently all data is either on or off, or a voltage - no sensors

data or signals / voltage from a or b is used to display a light (using the signal / voltage coming from a or b)

no oscillscope - don't know what is dvm. sorry

i have a multimeter - astro ai

no experience with android - my daddy and i am watching some vids as we are interested

sorry my dad is not experienced with electronics or electrical - he is a music teacher helping me with my studies and hobbies.

everyoe - i think it complicated - please ignore this message from me. i don't want to create hassel for you. thank you for trying to help - i will learn more and may be post again here. i apolgize for mistake from me.
No worries... people here are used to making things complicated, for in the real world, things ARE complicated.

But things in a 4th grade students that work with model houses don’t need to be complicated.

When you say model house, you mean a model of a house, not a full size house that is used as a model?

It seems that you know what a switch pole and throw are. SPST, DPDT, etc... You need an eleven pole double throw switch, 11PDT. Ten poles for the signals and one pole for indicator light(s). You might have more luck searching for a 12PDT Switch.

Or you could use relays. Six common DPDT Relays wired in parallel and switched with a SPST Switch...

Here’s some simple ideas. Do any sound good?
 

danadak

Joined Mar 10, 2018
4,057
Sound card oscilloscope. Make sure you imploy the protection diodes
so that you don't burn up your sound card input with excessive voltage.

Get a 10X scope probe. If it is a X1 and a X10 tape the switch to X10
position.

If you don't have a scope, but have a PC (limited, will not be able to see high speed
transients, but still somewhat useful) -


You can start with a PC sound card based scope for free. Will give you basically
audio range scope, spectrum analyzer, and function generator all using your
PC sound card.

The limitation of sound card scopes, besides max frequency of signal, is they cannot
see/register DC signals as they are ac coupled on their inputs.


https://www.zeitnitz.eu/scope_en


http://www.zelscope.com/


http://www.ledametrix.com/oscope/


http://www.virtins.com/downloads.shtml


But first build a simple circuit to protect sound card inputs so you do not
ruin from transients, overvoltage. Google "protect sound card input".


For example http://makezine.com/projects/sound-card-oscilloscope/


Sound card impedance bridge -


http://www.marucchi.it/ZRLC_web/ZRLC/Steber_An_LMS_Impedance_Bridge.pdf


http://www.sillanumsoft.org/ZRLC.htm


Regards, Dana.
 
Last edited:

JoeJester

Joined Apr 26, 2005
4,259
The ds138 is a very inexpensive single channel oscilloscope. same with some DMMs.

Entry level TE for entry level mistakes. Easier on the wallet.
 

atferrari

Joined Jan 6, 2004
4,005
The assignment, if done discretely, is a bit of a horror show in wiring and chips.

The post is to show what can be done.

I keep in mind we have kids in schools, 6th grade so far I have learned, that are wiring
and doing basic robot programming.

I fully appreciate my post is one of possibilities, and I also wonder if Dad is an EE or Tech.....

So much we do not know about this, but I thought I would do a design, mainly out of
curiosity to see if it would route.


Regards, Dana.
If a solution for an AB pair is shown to the OP, repeating it 8 Times could be not that dramatic.
If this is going to be of any utility for him to learn something, I just come from solving to route the offset of an amplifier (ground or variable voltage) with just 3 pins and a jumper like those used before in hard disk drives. Pity I miss the right names.
I would describe later the additional circuit to light the corresponding LED for each channel.
 
Top