Need help with making a simple circuit that lights up a LED when a specific frequency is present

chboizz1

Joined Aug 10, 2015
Hello folks,

I am relatively new to RF circuits, so please bear with me. (Note: this is not for homework or anything, but rather for personal experience)

I am trying to build a simple circuit with an antenna that will pick up nearby frequencies, filter out anything that isnt within around a 400Mhz to 800Mhz range and then light up a LED if this range of frequency signal is present.

I assume that the circuit should not be too complicated since all it should do is detect the "presence" of a signal and not actually decode its information signal.

I have done alot of reading up on band pass filters and resonant circuits and asked questions on other forms, but to be honest I am at a complete loss.

I have studied some RF signal detectors online such as this simple broad signal detector, but as it is, it detects a huge range of frequencies so I would like to be able to control the range of frequencies it detects.

Thanks,

Attachments

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Do a search for Field Strength Meter in the Ham radio context.

Such things are usually not too sensitive, meaning that the transmitter being detected has to emit a substantial power level (hundreds of mW to Watts), and the distance from the FSM to the emitter is only a few feet...

To get an untuned bandwidth of an octave or so, you will likely have to cascade a low-pass filter with a high-pass filter. A parallel tuned LC tank is likely to have too narrow a response. Or you could have a tuning control, but would have to know the frequency of what you are trying to detect ahead of time.

chboizz1

Joined Aug 10, 2015
Sorry, I forgot to mention I want the antenna to be relatively small, so im generally assuming that signal that this detector will be detecting will be basically aiming straight at it.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009