Need help choosing a Current Sense Amplifier

electronice123

Joined Oct 10, 2008
Hi all,

I am trying to find a current sense amplifier for an audio frequency circuit.
The load is inductive and has a resistance of 10 ohms.
The current is unidirectional and changes from 100mA to 1.4A
Rsense is 100m Ohm, so Vdrop across it will vary from 10mV to 140mV
Rsense is on the low side of the load
The voltage applied to the load is 14V
Gain needs to be 100.
The output will be applied to an oscilloscope to view the current waveform, with the peak being around 14V.

I've never used a CSA before. I've narrowed it down to either an INA193 or an INA199.
I also considered just using an Op amp like the TLV2372.

Thoughts/Opinions?

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
The challenge will be both the common mode voltage that the amplifier can work with, and the output voltage capability of the amplifier. Consider that 100 x 140 millivolts is 14000 millivolts=14 volts. An opamp powered by 5 volts will not be able to do that.

electronice123

Joined Oct 10, 2008
The challenge will be both the common mode voltage that the amplifier can work with, and the output voltage capability of the amplifier. Consider that 100 x 140 millivolts is 14000 millivolts=14 volts. An opamp powered by 5 volts will not be able to do that.
Yes. And considering my power supply is 14V I need something that's rail to rail from what I've read.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
So Rsense is in the ground connection at zero volts with no current?
If so, then a RRIO op amp configured as a non-inverting amp with a gain of 100 should work.

Below is the LTspice sim of such a circuit.
The TLV9152 is similar to the TLV2372 but the TLV9152 has significantly lower input offset voltage of 0.8mV vs 6mV max.).
Either one should work, but lower offset is better for this application since, with a gain of 100, the output offset voltage will be 80mV vs. 600mV max.

1713398826632.png

electronice123

Joined Oct 10, 2008