I need help with choosing the proper IDM(Insulation Monitoring Device)

marksmandantus

Joined Mar 4, 2024
Hi guys I am new in this sector and I am trying to learn something about how to make an EV with my friends. My friends wanted me to research some IDM modules. I searched a lot and I tried to understand the sub-systems. But I didn't understand how do these IDMs work. I have to choose the proper IDM for our EV. It is a small EV(2 seats, 300kg). Can you help me to find a good IDM? Any suggestions? Or how can I create them and how does it works?

Thanks.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
OK, here is a response: First, I am guessing because a lot of information is not provided.
The first guess is that the intention is to monitor some electrical circuit at some unknown voltage level to detect electrical leakage between some sort of conductors.
The request is to be able to do this with some sort of module available from some vendor, probably from an on-line seller.
Certainly it is fairly simple to sense the failure of electrical insulation, but with the lack of any detailed information there is no way it can be done adequately for anything close to a reasonable price.

What is needed is: what voltage is there between the insulated items? What current flow between the items constitutes an insulation failure?

marksmandantus

Joined Mar 4, 2024
OK, here is a response: First, I am guessing because a lot of information is not provided.
The first guess is that the intention is to monitor some electrical circuit at some unknown voltage level to detect electrical leakage between some sort of conductors.
The request is to be able to do this with some sort of module available from some vendor, probably from an on-line seller.
Certainly it is fairly simple to sense the failure of electrical insulation, but with the lack of any detailed information there is no way it can be done adequately for anything close to a reasonable price.