Need Guidance/ Diagnostics

LUXFactor

Joined Jan 5, 2024
Have designed and built a rack mount hybrid that essentially integrates two different devices into one homogeneous system without deconstructing components, some are relocated but not reassigned. One is a 3M Peltor DECT Comm 2815 handset internal components with additional modules to formalise use, connecting to a further piece of hardware to equalise the duplex signals for introduction to existing hardwired duplex comms systems used in broadcast and entertainment. The Peltor DECT system is now discontinued and 3M will not assist. The 2815 unit is rare, I own 3, 2 have now ‘failed’ in development after working; first was component damage second remains mystery 3rd not going to use until diagnosis is known leading towards repair of other two. Can anyone help/recommend/assist in getting this resolved please as I can go no further without assistance from knowledgeable electronics engineering- I am an inventor/ electrician not electronics hence my plea for assistance/ guidance please…

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Welcome to AAC.

This is going to require the ordinary steps for repairing an electronic device. Success will depend on a few things:

• Is there documentation—a service manual, schematics, &c.

• How the device is constructed—is it solidly built with connectors for board-to-board signals, does it have well laid out and marked PCB(s), is it heavily dependent on SMD parts of the smallest type, &c.

• Does it rely on ASICs or other proprietary components that are unavailable—are the chips scrubbed of identification or marked with only house numbers, &c.

I suspect there are no manuals or schematics and that there are some proprietary components, but that’s not a show stopper. You need to do two things: