My Fluke 115 is giving false AC reading. What can I do to repair it?

Fabian Cerdas

Joined Apr 16, 2019
Hello, I am new to the forum so I apologize for any inconvenience.

I'm a student that needs your vast knowledge in meter electronics. As you read in my post title I have a Fluke 115. it's quite old, maybe 6 years old. It started presenting some problems like a year ago. Whenever I try to measure AC (doesn't matter if I have my leads attached or not) it presents a false reading. I know that meters tend to pick up charge over leads but the meter never did this much when it was new. This reading or offset is really annoying because I can't measure amps or volts below this value of 23 or 24 digits. As you can see DC is set to Zero but watch AC readings.

20190416_161813.jpg 20190416_161842.jpg 20190416_161855.jpg 20190416_161910.jpg 20190416_161917.jpg

Changing range values doesn't make a difference at all. This is my only meter BTW. I've disassembled the meter and applied some contact cleaner to every solder point without any luck. Board "looks" to be OK. I've tried testing the fuse and seems to be working perfectly according to Fluke booklets. I'm not an electronics expert so I come to you. Please help me diagnose this meter because taking it to a repair center costs almost the same as the meter. I live in Costa Rica.

20190416_161952.jpg 20190416_162000.jpg 20190416_162009.jpg

Thank you so much for your attention.

Fabian Cerdas

Joined Apr 16, 2019
This is the calibration manual. If you can get a trusted source for the signals listed, calibrating it might be the answer.

Don't try to calibrate it unless you trust the source for the signals because that will be the standard for your measurements.

https://dam-assets.fluke.com/s3fs-public/114_____cieng0100.pdf