Mr, I would like to use a 555 timer to alternate two blinking LED's,

stspringer

Joined Oct 1, 2019
Hello,
I am a relative newbie, I would like to use a 555 timer to alternate two blinking LED's, this diagram works for low amp LED's, but I would like to power two 12v - 30w - 2 amp, LED's using the 555 timer and two Mosfets.

How would you add Mosfets to this diagram and have the alternating blink between the two high amp led's. I can only get them to blink at the same time using one N channel mosfet. I am assuming you would need two mosfets, not sure. Thanks for any help

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

ElectricSpidey

Joined Dec 2, 2017
You may need a pullup on Q2 on the above circuit because when LEDs are not conducting, they are very high resistance.

It may work as shown, but I would not bet money on it.

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
How much is "High-Amp" ?
Do the LEDs have built-in Current-Regulation ?
What is the Voltage and Current-Capacity of your Power-Supply ?, is it reasonably well regulated ?
Do the LEDs have a specific Voltage-Rating, or a wide range of acceptable Voltages ?
Do You want to be able to "Dim" the LEDs ?
Do You want to "Fade" between the LEDs ?, or have a "Hard-Switch" between them ?
What is the range of "Flash-Rates" that You would like ? ( Flashes per Second or Minute )
Does the Flash-Rate need to be adjustable ?
Does the Duty-Cycle need to be exactly 50% ?, does it need to be adjustable ?

stspringer

Joined Oct 1, 2019
How much is "High-Amp" ?
Do the LEDs have built-in Current-Regulation ?
What is the Voltage and Current-Capacity of your Power-Supply ?, is it reasonably well regulated ?
Do the LEDs have a specific Voltage-Rating, or a wide range of acceptable Voltages ?
Do You want to be able to "Dim" the LEDs ?
Do You want to "Fade" between the LEDs ?, or have a "Hard-Switch" between them ?
What is the range of "Flash-Rates" that You would like ? ( Flashes per Second or Minute )
Does the Flash-Rate need to be adjustable ?