Motion detector solenoid lol

Erock12

Joined Dec 26, 2023
Hey! Super beginner here, I’m looking to design a system, that a pir controls 2 push solenoids. im assuming I need a controller or a contactor, for once motion is detected I need solenoid 1 to push out, then once motion is no longer being detected I need solenoid 2 to push out, I’m a electrician so I have a basic concept to circuitry, but I just don’t know the fine print of getting a pir to control 2 solenoids individually, with or without a controller

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
Do you have a picture or part number on the solenoid you want to use? AC or DC? What voltage?
Does the solenoid go out when power is applied and then come back in when there is no power?
What kind of signal comes from the motion detector?

Start out with no motion, both solenoids are in.
Morion detected, 1=out, 2=in.
No motion, 1=?, 2=out. What condition should solenoid 1 be in?
How do you want to reset back to 1=in, 2=in?

Erock12

Joined Dec 26, 2023
So I want both solenoid to be in with no motion, once motion I want solenoid 1 to go out then back in, then with motion solenoid 2 to go out then back in.
or if it makes it easier, with motion 1 out, then no motion 1 goes in, 2 goes out and vice versa. I planned on using a 5-6v battery.
further research I may have to use a 2 channel relay with the pir

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
Have the PIR drive a SPDT relay of sufficient rating to drive the solenoids. One solenoid on NC, other on NO, with common connected to whatever voltage source the solenoids require.

Erock12

Joined Dec 26, 2023
the only issue with this that I see, is the solenoids are only able to be powered for 1sec. So from what I am seeing, both of them needed me to be closed, then once power is supplied, it needs to solenoid 1 needs to push out, then back in. Then once motion is gone, solenoid 2 gets energized pushes out then back in

Erock12

Joined Dec 26, 2023