Modulo 10 up/down counter

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Earl Vickery, Sep 11, 2019 at 3:31 AM.

1. Earl Vickery

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 1, 2019
    I am not sure how i should wire up the counting down part of the circuit. Currently when it is counting down it starts at 5 because of the AND gate that resets the illegal states. I've tried to figure it out myself. I know some more logic gates are needed so it starts at 9 but im stuck.

Thanks for any help in advance.
    I am new to circuits

Last edited: Sep 11, 2019 at 3:38 AM
  2. MrAl

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 17, 2014
    Why only reset 2 of the flip flops when the illegal count is reached?
    Do the other two stay reset?

3. Earl Vickery

Sep 1, 2019
    I didn't reset the others because it doesn't seem to count down at all then. I know there is something wrong with my reset logic but just cant think of it.

4. Earl Vickery

Sep 1, 2019
    I've been stuck on this for the past couple of days. I know its something simple, but i cant think of it. I will take a break and come back to it.

5. MrAl

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 17, 2014
    Hi again,

Normally what you do is make up a logic state diagram and work from that.
    To get into an implementation you study each flip flop section until you know how each individual stage works and translates into the state diagram.
    Look up "logical state diagram" and see if that helps.

6. dl324

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 30, 2015
    Show your work and post the entire text of the problem.

7. MrAl

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 17, 2014
    You seem to be on the right track, but what is happening with the set 's' inputs? Take a look at that first.

8. Earl Vickery

Sep 1, 2019
    I have been playing around with set and reset inputs of the FFs. I think i have made some progress with it though it does seem a bit messy. Will post what i changed soon.
    Thanks for the help

9. Picbuster

Dec 2, 2013
    First off all identify what you want
    1:up/down counter