Microcontroller/Programming help needed! simple DIY project

Tman179

Joined Dec 10, 2019
Howdy, so I am currently working on a small project to build a binary clock style watch. I am pretty new to circuitry and building small circuits. I do know some python and have been toying around with my raspberry pi 3B+.

Here is the link to the project I plan to replicate and modify for my project:

https://www.instructables.com/id/Simple-Binary-Clock-Using-Attiny85/

I plan to build these circuits in roughly a 40x40mm area. Now with the circuit presented, I plan to break it up into two or possibly three boards. The first board will contain the array of LED chips all wired together as shown, and the connections brought to a side of the board. The second board will be directly beneath the first in the watch housing, it will contain the ATtiny, shift register, buttons, and resistors. It will connect to the LED board via some vertical wires that will go though the LED board and solder to the corresponding connections. Now on the bottom of the second board I plan to have a third board glued to its back, which will contain the battery holder and connections to directly connect the battery to the leads that require power. This was the second and third boards are back to back with some connections passing through the boards to connect power.

So here are my questions:
- I want to add a 16.000Mhz crystal oscillator to increase the accuracy of the internal clock in the ATtiny, so where would I add it if I can in this circuit?(I want to use 16.000 Mhz because it will line up with the internal clock of the ATtiny and the program)
- Is there such thing as a dual sided pre-sensitized pcb board I could buy to etch my circuits on? It would make the circuit designs much easier.
- Would my Raspberry Pi and Spyder IDE program work to program the ATtiny85?