Mechanical Engineer wants to know what he should know about EE.

Bert Uschold

Joined Mar 20, 2017
Get to the point version of the question:

If you were an EE or software engineer designing a consumer wearable; a handheld product with PCB, display, and battery; or other similar device; what would you expect or want the mechanical engineer designing the housing and other elements to know about EE and software so that the project is successful and on time? Your top two or three items would be great. A link or a reference is also welcome.

Longer version with a little more background.:

As the thread title says, I am a mechanical engineer. I have 25 years of experience in product development, mostly in small medical devices and some consumer products. Many projects have included electronics, such as cell phones, blood glucose monitors, and insulin pumps, so I have some knowledge of the field. However, I feel like this ad hoc education has left many holes in my knowledge. This fact was mentioned to my boss and it is now an objective to improve my EE knowledge and help our group of 8 – 10 MEs do the same.

Unfortunately, I have not found a good resource for what I think I need. Yes, I am not sure of what I need. What I have found is either too basic and too broad that finding helpful information is hard (example – the textbook on this forum) or too narrow and too deep that I am over my head on page 1. It is likely many of you have worked with engineers like me on projects similar to what I mentioned. During those projects, there were probably times you said to yourself, “If only that engineer knew X or told me Y we wouldn’t have this problem.” Conversely, hopefully there were occasions were the ME had appropriate knowledge and was able to help head off a problem. Those are the kind of things that would help me figure out what I need to know.