MC2100 treadmill motor control circuit

KingAether

Joined Jan 29, 2020
22
Is anyone knowledgable or is there a datapage anywhere with information on the different 2100 variants. Many new surplus boards i find online are 2100ELS 18/50w. I have found a used mc2100lS-30 for 25% of the price and wondering how it compares and also could someone tell me the size specs of the board, starting to build an enclosure. Thanks guys
 
Last edited:

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
22,841
The variation I have found are mainly in the LV 16v supply from various on board transformers to a separate unit to the main board.
I have checked the power devices on the heat sink and all show the same part No.
The OA footprint of the chassis is 8.625" x 4.375".
Max.,
 

KingAether

Joined Jan 29, 2020
22
Thank you for all the help MHR, its been really appreciated and helped a lot.
I managed to get the local 2100 and a board from Al is on its way. Hopefully this is the last thing i need to figure out and hoping i can ask your help once more. I have a cheap 4 digit LED tachometer(8v-24vdc) and a indicator LED(12v ac/dc) that id like to come on with the grinder and without 2 power sockets being used.
Would it be easier to add them both into the wiring separately or run them from a 24v charger and add that to the circuit, the former makes more sense to me but ive seen the latter done but not how it was done. Either way would you mind explaining in idiot terms how i would do that. Im competent and comfortable doing it but don't know electrical terms all that well yet.
Thank you
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
22,841
It might be safer to run the Tach from a small Wall-Wart supply, rather than risk any problem causing issues with the MC2100.
You could always put a local socket at the site of the controller board.
Max.
 

KingAether

Joined Jan 29, 2020
22
Ok sure, i did think about that so i can use it on the lathe too but running extensions to the shed sockets are precious. Any idea on the light? Its one of these but mine says ACDC 12v instead of ac 220v. Could i just put it after the switch and breaker or after the control board on the DC end?
 

Attachments

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
22,841
Do you want to indicate when the power is on or when the motor is actually running?
Those have 220vac so they must have the suitable resistor and rectifier, if LED as shown.
Max..
 

KingAether

Joined Jan 29, 2020
22
This is my one specifically, i can see 2 resistors inside but not sure about rectifier, would that just mean put it between the control board and the motor ?
I have seen this [video] Where he just adds it right to the red and black wires at the start of the power cable so it might have one already, im not using the little scr box but would it work the same if the same light, just solder it to the red/black power wires and put them in the same crimp clip for the control board
87034896_810129076154633_1409056728321884160_n.jpg87185201_200943037813923_151850029038960640_n.jpg
 
Last edited:

KingAether

Joined Jan 29, 2020
22
I only just clicked looking back at it after your reply and double checked what i payed for that they have sent the wrong ones, i did order 220v. I dont mind if they dim, will just be good to know its on at the wall even if not running, ill probably have 2-3 motors ill switch between on the board for different things
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
22,841
If referring to the MOV1 it will depend on if this is 120v or 230v supply.
If it is the MOV, it must have received an over-voltage recently.
The board can be ran/tested without it, temporarily.
Max.
 

KingAether

Joined Jan 29, 2020
22
Yes yes, the MOV1 point, its 220v as far as i know. It came like this out of the box so im likely to just return it but looking at my choices, i can see the last few digits are 241k. Thank you
 

pedromdinis

Joined Feb 26, 2020
1
Hi Folks, if looking for adaptive speed controls for PWM driven motors, message me. I have built and adapted many styles of controllers available for lathes and other milling applications. :eek:)
Hello
Can you tell me the value or reference off the D5 diode. My diode burned and I can't see the reference. MC2100els-18w
 

KingAether

Joined Jan 29, 2020
22
Any idea if i can plug a 8v-24v tachometer (one of the common small Chinese LED ones) directly into the 2 pin TACH terminal on the ELS-18w ? I brought a power switch with an LED to get around needing to wire in the indicator LED.
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
22,841
The Tach on the MC2100's I have come across just send the Tach up to the T.M. console to be processed (Pin3 of HD2) where it is displayed and then any correction is made to the motor speed command sent down to the motor board.
Max.
 

KingAether

Joined Jan 29, 2020
22
Would it be very simple to add such a tachometer as i mentioned to the circuit ? I only have 2 sockets in the shed and it would be ideal to run a light instead of the tach
Thank you
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
22,841
So actually you want to Power the tach only?
The Tach socket itself will not supply power, it is for the 2 lead tach device only.
The other source of 12vdc - 15vdc is the HD2 socket, pin 1 & 8 are common and pin 2 is +12v-15v.
I don't know of another +v source than this.
Max.
 
Top