Manual to automatic steering whee swap. Reusing paddle shifters for other functions.

Shtiggs

Joined Feb 24, 2022
I am working on a 2014 camaro with a manual transmission. I would like to install a steering wheel from an automatic and use it to control some auxiliary systems that I am installing such as a line lock. I have looked over this post and there is some interesting information in it but I am not an expert and am struggling to find the solution I am looking for.

https://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/paddle-shifter-add-on-circuit.143000/

In my use case there is nothing using the purple data wire that is used to signal the BCM. I would like this line to signal one relay to close when the right shifter is pressed and signal another when the left is pressed. I have a post on another forum as well where we are discussing the possibilities but I think some more specialized skill sets are required to answer my question and get to a solution. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Link to my other forum post:
https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=602389

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015
Welcome to AAC.

The first question I have is 'What happens when you tap one of the paddles?' Does it present a resistance change? A voltage divider change? Somehow the BCM reads that signal and determines what the driver wants to do. On my wife's car radio with steering wheel controls, there is a series of resistors. When you push a particular button you change the resistance read by the radio. The control circuit responds in accordance with what engineering determined a particular button will do. So I'm just guessing here, but it might be an analog setup where one voltage is present, say a full 5 volts. When you push one paddle the voltage may drop to 3.3V. When you push the other paddle the voltage may drop to 1.7V. Some sort of comparator determines what signal has been returned and whatever that circuitry is designed to do - it performs that function.