Making Heated pants/shirt liner using 12v heating pads and fan controller.

Dan Pizano

Joined Dec 7, 2016
Hi Guys, I am a BSEE graduate from Purdue. I am currently working as a power engineer at a utility company which requires me to be in the field during below freezing temperatures. I'm either sitting at a laptop or holding a test switch outside. I don't constantly move around enough to take advantage of thermal clothing.

I have Under Armor Thermal shirt and pants. My plan is to stitch these heat pads on them
http://www.ebay.com/itm/2Pcs-Carbon-Fiber-Heated-Auto-Car-Seat-Heating-Heater-Pad-12V-Universal-/182346267753?hash=item2a74af3c69:g:IzUAAOSwcUBYIKGG&vxp=mtr

One head pad on the back of the waist line and a couple down the front and back of each leg. My plan is to wire all the pads in parallel then to a temperature controller or small fan controller to regulate the temperature.

I've seen similar tutorials on how to do this, but a lot of people are making their own heat pads instead of just buying them. The tutorials are out dated. Can anyone tell me how to go about this idea?

My basic needs are heat for longevity. I would like to hold a constant temperature for at least 4 hours. I don't need these heat pads to get extremely hot, just enough to be comfortable.

Also how do I go about picking a battery pack? I need something mobile and small enough to be stitched in my jacket, but powerful enough to last. My plan is to try to connect the pants/shirt head pads to the same controller if possible, but I do not want to feel restricted. Any help would be greatly appreciated

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014