LTSpice and designing a AC motor control circuit

davemorl

Joined Jun 14, 2018
Hi,

I am pretty new to designing circuits, but have been playing about with the Ltspice software with some opto triacs and traic to design a 3 phase motor controller from a STM32 blue pill.

I have the blue pill programmed and that is all working well to switch on LED's one for forward and one for reverse.

What I would like is for someone to have a look at my circuit to see if I've made any glaring mistakes before I make the PCB on KiCAD and send away for the BOM.

Thanks DaveScreenshot.png

Attachments

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi dave,
Welcome to AAC.
It runs OK for me.
Be aware that your LTS Vac's are RMS not peak.
If you are on 230Vac RMS mains, use V=325Vac.

Some of the MOC resistor are different values and in different locations,.
Eric
BTW: I had to use my Triac.lib path
Don't leave the Triac trigger open circuit, add resistive path

Attachments

Last edited:

rutendo

Joined Sep 24, 2017
L can see all seems fine as you are using V1 as a pulse control for th NPN to turn on the three optocouplers and then trurning on the TRIAC which then conduct into the motor as three phase.All seems ok,maybe l am an amateur but as l see it all is well.

davemorl

Joined Jun 14, 2018
Don't leave the Triac trigger open circuit, add resistive path
Can i ask why this is good practice? I would have assumed the load of the motor would be sufficient?

Just to confirm it is the 1k resistor on the ESP1 image you sent?

Also why is it you get such a large voltage drop from 325Vac input to 255Vac output on all three phases?

Last edited by a moderator:

davemorl

Joined Jun 14, 2018
Yeah I've done just that. What do these resistors achieve?

Is the voltage drop due to the triacs?

What software is that you're using? I like the way you can view 3 plots at the same time.

Screenshot.png

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010