Low pass filter RC values for varying PWM duty cycle

mdylanmst20

Joined Jun 5, 2017
Hello, I have a circuit that outputs a digital signal. The signal is PWM signal whose duty cycle is constantly changing. I want to be able to read the analog output of the circuit with as little power loss as possible. I'm thinking that I should use a Low Pass filter but I'm lost as how to calculate what my values for my resistor and capacitor would be. Any help or input would be much appreciated.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
You determine how much ripple you can tolerate in the signal from the PWM frequency and then calculate the filter value to give less than that.
What are the PWM and modulation frequencies?
Depending upon the difference between those two frequencies you may need to go to a higher order active filter to get the results you want.

mdylanmst20

Joined Jun 5, 2017
Sorry I am very new to electronics/circuits and am not as familiar with the terminology as I would like. So I would like to measure the circuits current output as an analog rather than digital signal. What I know thus far is that ripple is the variation in voltage of the signal after it passes the filter? I'm not really sure how the magnitude of the ripple will effect my current measurements so I would assume I would want it to be fairly low? Also when you say modulation frequencies, what do you mean? My PWM signal is running at 1 kHz but the duty cycle is changing over time any where in it's full range of zero to one hundred percent through my raspberry pi, as I've coded it that way. The point of my circuit is to emulate the current draw of a dc motor which is in a food pump and to hook the circuit into the pump and trick it into thinking it's got the motor attached and running. The pump takes current readings of the motor to monitor it and I believe that whatever the means the circuit uses to measure the current it takes an analog signal.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008