Looking help to design First PCB

aspirea5745

Joined Apr 17, 2019
Hello everyone

I'm fairly new to this forum, and I'm really a beginner for PCB design So let's start at the beginning with the power supply.

I tried to add only a few components I have added battery terminal, diode and capacitor

upload_2019-6-4_15-21-20.png

upload_2019-6-4_15-21-39.png

This is PCB Design

upload_2019-6-4_15-21-53.png

after that, I tried to add a voltage regulator

Made circuit

upload_2019-6-4_15-24-6.png
Component placing window

upload_2019-6-4_15-24-25.png

Final PCB

upload_2019-6-4_15-25-13.png

If you look carefully output of voltage regulator is not connected to the other end of terminal 2

I have been followed tutorials and seen videos but I don't understand how to arrange all part's

any help would be appreciated

Berzerker

Joined Jul 29, 2018
Where is the PCB outline / shape, Mounting holes (if any) etc.?
I Don't use Eagle though I have it on my computer ( I use Diptrace) but if it has an Auto placement function try it. I tried it and didn't like what it done to my design so I did mine free handed. I too am a Beginner so you've come to the right place. I took several months learning the ins and outs of Diptrace before setting out to build my board.

Brzrkr

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
I have been followed tutorials and seen videos but I don't understand how to arrange all part's
Well laid out boards are more of an art than science. No one can give you a recipe.

Without knowing your objectives, I did this layout:
upload_2019-6-4_7-11-27.png upload_2019-6-4_7-11-46.png upload_2019-6-4_7-12-29.png

I don't like the skinny pads Eagle uses on some compoents, so a final might look like this:
upload_2019-6-4_7-15-4.png

EDIT: The important thing to note is that I used the body of the capacitor as a "jumper" so the board could be single sided with no wire jumpers. I also made the board larger so mounting holes could be incorporated.

Last edited:

MrSoftware