Looking for ideas on how to charge my power chair in a survival situation

hotwheels

Joined Feb 17, 2017
I am a complete novice when it comes to circuits. I want to learn but at the moment my knowledge is very limited. I am physically disabled.I have very limited use of hands and arm and I use a power chair. I know enough about survival to know that during a bug out one is only as good as one's feet or in my case my chair. So, I need to find a lightweight way to charge my chair off the grid. A friend suggested a Tesla circuit, but I researched that a bit and I now feel my friend is not well informed. I live in Sunny So Cal, so, I have thought of solar panels but they would be hard to attach to my chair.

the chair works on 2 24 volt 8 amp batteries. Any ideas that do not have a high potential of killing me would be helpful. Thank you

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
It might be helpful for us to know the capacity of your batteries.

Solar cells might seem attractive because they are clean and quiet but the power output per square meter might be too low to be practical for your application.

Chemical energy sources such as gasoline can deliver a lot of energy per unit weight and volume. Maybe a small gasoline or diesel generator connected to a battery charger will end up being the best solution.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
I think Dick has a good solution.
A small, gasoline or propane powered generator should readily charge your batteries.
Propane fuel has the advantage of being easy to store and having a very long storage life as compared to gasoline.

Do you know how much power the battery charger requires and how long it takes to charge the batteries?

Even in sunny SoCal there can be several days in a row without sunlight. ;)

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
I live in Sunny So Cal, so, I have thought of solar panels but they would be hard to attach to my chair.