Looking for advice on how I can trigger a sound FX board from a motion sensor

PaulHollingsworth

Joined Jan 13, 2016
Hello there,

I am fairly new to the world of circuitry and wondered if anybody on here would be kind enough to offer there expertise with my project. I work closely with an animal rescue centre here in the UK, and as part of the walk around their educational area they have some outdoor Dinosaur features :D

I want to create a circuit where a PIR sensor is connected to a sound FX board. When it detects any motion it will turn the circuit on and play the sound (A dinosaur Roar). I am open to other ideas and ways I can achieve this if it means doing away with any of the components I already have...I am all ears :D

So the set up I have at the minute is to try and trigger the power to the whole board. I have linked the audio pins together so as soon as the board turns on, the audio is triggered and looped until the board loses power. It would however be nice if I was able to use a motion sensor to trigger the actual audio banks on the sound board rather than triggering the power to it? I wonder if thats possible.

Here are the components that I have to achieve this and the circuit that I currently have now (Picture Attached) Please note I am no expert and my schematic is terrible. The issue at the minute is, there is a constant hissing noise coming from the board and it is just not powering up fully. I wonder if it has enough power going to it?

Main components:
- Adafruit Sound Fx Board (https://www.adafruit.com/product/2217)
- Adafruit PIR Sensor (https://www.adafruit.com/product/189)
- 1 X Speaker (http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/3w-mylar-square-speakers-77mm-vc88v)
- 4 X AA batteries in a battery pack