Logisim Questions for Assignment

Dejan Joksimovic

Joined May 9, 2017
Hey guys, I am very new to Logisim and logic gates in general. Anyway, I have a question that I need help with asap. The assignment is asking me to create a circuit where the user (myself) can input a value for Card 1 (C1) value (C1-1, C1-2, and C1-3) and a Card 2 (C2) value (C2-1, C2-2, and C2-3) and the circuit decodes the C1-1, C1-2, C1-3 and C2-1, C2- 2, C2-3 values using a decoder to determine if C1 + C2 < 7.

This is the requirement for the assigment. "For this assignment you are required to implement a simple game for a single player. The game has two cards (C1 and C2) as inputs. Each card value is an octal digit (3 input bits, values 0..7). The two card values C1 and C2 are added together. If C1 + C2 < 7 the player wins. If C1 + C2 > 6 the player loses. You may only use the three basic logic gates: AND, OR and NOT."

I have spent the last 2 days trying to figure this out, and I cannot come up with a solution. I have asked my lecturer and he cannot help me much which makes sense. If someone could help me understand and/or possibly show me how to do this, that would mean a lot to me since this is very important to me. Any help is greatly appreciated!

These are the values of C1 and C2:

C1: http://imgur.com/TufvFOV
Dejan_C1_TufvFOV.png
C2: http://imgur.com/8zhTNcV
Dejan_C2_8zhTNcV.png

This is what I have done so far (3-8 bit decoder and don't know what to do from this point):
http://imgur.com/JypRy0k
http://imgur.com/W0SmPTn
Dejan_sol1_JypRy0k.png

I am grateful for any help I receive, thank you guys so much <3

Last edited by a moderator:

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
What is your final output? That isn't specified. Is it a single output that is HI if the player wins and LO if they lose? Or something else.

You know that each decoder will make exactly one of its eight outputs high, correct? Can you identify the combinations of outputs, one from each side, that result in a win?