LiPo or NiMH Batteries and Charge Controller

ebsoares

Joined Apr 13, 2017
Hi, everyone. Was wondering if I could ask for some suggestions on an couple of issues.

I’m a senior Electrical Engineer student and am working on a team capstone project where we need to use solar power to recharge a set of batteries.
Our little contraption design, a box carrier with a shoulder strap, uses about 3W of power at 6V (that is full power consumption, but on average it will be much less than 1W): it's got a PSOC 4 microcontroller, a LCD display, maybe a little 400mW fan, and two 1.2W 12V miniature valves (we'll use a boost converter to step up from 6V). As of right now, we want to use a 6V 1mAh NiMH battery pack (as opposed to a LiPo battery).

The whole reason our team decided on NiMH batteries was because we read that they were safer and easier to handle and can be recharged more often, including when dealing with solar charging. Would you say that we could use LiPo batteries just as well? I ask just because we've been unable to find a definitely good charge controller for NiMH batteries that fits the bill (I'm losing confidence that NiMH was a good choice at this point).

We've been checking these solar panels and charge controllers: 6W Solar Panel (perhaps we could even go with their 3.5W version?) & LiPo Charge Controller from Adafruit, and this other solar panel with charge controller (is ok for 6V 1Ah NiMH batteries?) from Eco-Worthy.

So, we're trying to figure out which type of battery is best suited, and best charge controller for the job as well. I could provide more info on our project if needed.

Any suggestion or comment is very much appreciated!

Thanks,

Edgar

meadows

Joined Nov 9, 2017