LED Strip multiple wiring segments/power supply

mtaft

Joined Aug 22, 2017
Hello everyone, I am not an electrician I am a glass manufacturer however in my spare time I have a project that I need some help on. I have searched through the forums and found a couple similar posts but these were not particularly clear for my understanding.
(please help with this simple LED strip project! by daveym)

I have not bought any materials to complete this project, because I want to make sure that my materials are exactly what I need. According to the research I have done the materials that I think would best suit my purpose are as follows

Deep Dream UV Black Light Led Strip 16.4Ft/5M 3528 300LEDs Flexible Waterproof IP65 BlackLight Night Fishing Sterilization implicitly Party with 12V 2A Power Supply

Gardner Bender GSW-25 Maintained Contact Push-Button Switch, SPST, ON-OFF

Bosch Cord 120V

Are there other materials I need?

What I am trying to accomplish is to illuminate a painting with an led black light strip.
I plan to attach 4 black light led strip segments to the inside of a picture frame (two 5 inch lengths and two 7 inch lengths), cut from a 16.4 foot reel, with an on/off button attached to the side of the frame. With a 5 foot power cord connected, I was thinking about using a 120v (USA standard) household plug , is that overkill? Is there a better way to supply power from a standard (USA) outlet?

I plan on soldering wire to connect the 4 led strips together, what gage would be needed? I was thinking that I might need 10ga-12ga copper but I am not sure.

Are there other items that need to be added to make this work?

Once I have the 4 strips connected, can I wire positive/negative to the button, then wire it to the 120v plug?

Is there a better way to do this project? Attached to this post is what I currently have for a wiring diagram. Thank you in advanced for your help.

Attachments

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015