LED Indicators

opalloyd

Joined Nov 6, 2016
I have fitted LED indicators to an old motorcycle with flasher relay designed for LEDs. They work fine when engine is not running but when engine is running they flash very fast and eratic. I asume this is interference from the single phase alternator. How can I provide supression to indicator circuit. Would a 12v zener provide a fix or a large capacitor? I have limited knowledge of electronics but could fit the necessary componants if I had a diagram of what to fit. Any help would be much appreciated.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
Before I would worry about alternator noise I would look at the non running verse running system voltage. I have no idea what make or model bike you have but less using a turn signal flasher designed for LED as you have done the common trick when installing LEDs on a bike designed for incandescent lamps was to add a few load balancing resistors turn signal line to ground (common). While I have no idea how the turn signal flashers designed for LEDs actually work I would see how much the system voltage increases during running.

When I went with the LEDs on my bike I just added the load resistors and they worked fine for what I had. My system voltage was about 12.6 VDC not running and about 14 VDC when running. The bike is an older 92 Harley. Anyway, I would look for a voltage change before I worried about noise on the alternator.

Ron

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
If it was me I would probably try adding a diode in series and a capacitor in parallel with the LED load. This is a pretty simple way of smoothing the supply to the load. It may not be enough and you may need something fancier, but it might do the job.

Check the voltage on the capacitor if you try this. As @Reloadron notes, your erratic flashing could be a sign of over voltage.

opalloyd

Joined Nov 6, 2016