Learning how to calculate values for circuit components

Scott Johnson

Joined Jan 11, 2019
During my teenage years I spent a lot of time building circuits off of diagrams. These diagrams already had the part numbers of the resistors, transistors, or other parts that I needed to build them. So this is new territory for me but I've always loved electronics....

Now that I'm an entrepreneur and breaking off into consumer products (I'm a developer and system's/network engineer).

Attached is a circuit diagram I want to build and experiment with.

I know R1, R2, and R3 are 10k ohm resistors based on the original author's notes.

I'm looking at this page to try calculating out the values to select a transistor:
https://electronicsclub.info/transistorcircuits.htm

It looks like the type of transistor I need is a NPN

I know the circuit is 12v and the current is 1.0 amps.

However, neither lc(max) or hfe(min) are in digikey when I look at transistors so I'm not sure how that's related...?

I also don't know how to calculate what I need for LEDs or the piezo buzzer voltage wise. How would I figure that out?

Thanks a ton for helping me learn.

Attachments

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
In that circuit all of the transistors are indeed NPN.
All are being used as simple switches, so a rule of thumb is to assume each requires a base current 1/10 of its collector current (i.e assume hfe = 10).
Given those values of R1,2,3, even if you assume the piezo buzzer and the LEDs have negligible resistance the collector currents through Q1, Q2 and Q3 will be very small. BR-549 has given you a clue in the above post. Accordingly, almost any small signal NPN transistor will suit. You don't need to get bogged down in checking Ic(max) and hfe(min) values.

Scott Johnson

Joined Jan 11, 2019
That would be ohm's law right? I = V/R ?

So 12/10,000 which is .0012

So that would be 1.2mA?