Learn to build mini synthesizer - Where do I start?

LUISROD

Joined Apr 14, 2016
Greetings to all....

I have been an electronic musician for the past 30 years and want to build my own table-top synthesizer. For the past 20 years I have worked in metal fabrication and have designed enclosures and racks for the audio industry. As I am looking to further my education as an adult, I want to learn more about electronic technology. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I need to learn the basics.

Thank you for listening.
Luis

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Greetings to all....

I have been an electronic musician for the past 30 years and want to build my own table-top synthesizer. For the past 20 years I have worked in metal fabrication and have designed enclosures and racks for the audio industry. As I am looking to further my education as an adult, I want to learn more about electronic technology. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I need to learn the basics.

Thank you for listening.
Luis
This is actually a hard question to answer. I could give you the stock answer and say start at the beginning with DC circuits. On the other hand given your mechanical and music background I could almost recommend taking an alternate path. Maybe the hybrid approach. Try the these two chapters from the online textbook associated with this site:
  1. http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/textbook/direct-current/chpt-1/static-electricity/
  2. http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/textbook/alternating-current/chpt-1/what-is-alternating-current-ac/
Read a little bit of each section and feel your way through it. Ask lots of questions. The heart of what you want to get to is called a VCO (Voltage Controlled Oscillator) and it's digital equivalent the DDS (Direct Digital Synthesis) chip.

LUISROD

Joined Apr 14, 2016
Thank you for the quick response; I truly appreciate it! I will take your advice. Will post update soon.

Best regards.

Joined Nov 30, 2010