Latching switch to trigger a dual edge pulse?

ThatJamieSGuy

Joined Mar 28, 2024
Hi all,

I am a mechanical engineer and very limited in my electronics knowledge so please forgive me if this is a fairly simple question for you wizards.

I am working on a hobby project where I'm fitting an Intel NUC into a GameCube case. I want to reuse the GC's original power switch, which is a latching switch, to turn on the NUC.

The datasheet for the NUC shows that to turn on the PC, the POWER\_ON pin must be pulled to GROUND for at least 50ms (and no more than 3s, or it will go into the power button menu) via a momentary normally open SPST switch.

I have a couple of ideas of how to reuse the GC power button:

1. Analogue - GC power switch hooked up to some sort of dual edge detector (RC network maybe? I tried simulating one but could only get it to trigger on close) that, when the switch is closed or opened, generates a pulse. From what I've read, it looks like this may need to be combined with a few things: a NAND gate flip-flop (such as one fashioned from a 74HC00) such that the switch being on/off triggers a change in state of the flip-flop. The flip-flop change in state then (somehow - can't wrap my head around this) triggers a 555 timer one-shot monostable circuit to lengthen the pulse, which then finally drives a relay or a mosfet to give the power header an isolated path to ground. However the circuit is structured, it would either be powered by the 5V USB header or a watch battery.
2. Digital - GC power switch hooked up to an ATtiny85. ATtiny registers when the power switch is opened or closed then outputs a pulse which drives a mosfet/relay. Powered by USB header or watch battery. Sounds a lot simpler but I have no idea what circuitry I'd need to detect the open/closing of the power switch by the Attiny (unless it can determine if there is a short or open circuit between pins?) or how to drive the isolated path to ground switch.