Is solar power or a whole house generator clean enough for hifi gear?

Andrej Zeon

Joined Sep 26, 2017
I am planning to install solar power and/or a whole house generator (still deciding which one, depends on budget) at my house to use during extended periods without power. Is it safe to use either of these systems to power hifi gear?

This is the generator I'm looking at: https://www.amazon.com/Generac-Guardian-7034-Aluminium-Enclosure/dp/B01MDLE5CC For solar I haven't chosen a specific system yet.

I would be using it to power my TV, media player, Onkyo TX-NR626, my Klipsch 5.1 setup (RF-62 II's, RB41 II's, RC62 II, and SW-112), as well as a desktop PC that I built along with 4K monitor and 2.1 studio monitors/sub.

I'm looking into this because I know that portable generators output relatively dirty power not suitable for this type of gear, but I'm not experienced enough with whole house generators or solar yet so I wanted to check if anyone here knew if it was safe. Thanks.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
That Generac unit apparently uses electronic control (AVR) of a specialized alternator, which allows the engine to slow under light loads for quieter operation and lower fuel consumption while still maintaining the correct output frequency and voltage.
(A standard AC generator has to run at a constant speed, independent of load, to maintain a constant output.)

It states here, that the output total harmonic distortion is only 2% (apparently due to the electronic control) which should be fine for all your electronic equipment.
That's probably as good as normal main's voltage.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
That Generac unit apparently uses electronic control (AVR) of a specialized alternator, which allows the engine to slow under light loads for quieter operation and lower fuel consumption while still maintaining the correct output frequency and voltage.