Is Practical Electronics For Inventors worth it?

SeanV123

Joined Nov 12, 2020
I am a recent electronic engineering graduate and currently work as an electronic engineer. In my spare time I am a electronic hobbyist. I am always building things with Arduino's, RPI etc but I want to take my hobbyist skills to a more technical level. As in, I want to build more circuits with more complex components, architectures etc. Such as digital circuits, op-amps, etc. The reason for this is that I want to understand more about the components in the circuits. I was thinking of purchasign Practical Electronics For Inventors ( I can get it here for around 30EUR). Would it be worth it? Is it a good book for going in depth in the topics I was talking about? I glanced through the table of contents on a PDF and it seems fairly in-depth and useful. But I would like some opinions.
Thanks.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Any textbook on theoretical or practical electronics would probably do the job. I would prefer to go with a subscription of a hobbyist magazine such as Nuts & Volts. I cut my teeth on Practical Wireless and Popular Electronics.

My recommendation would be to build more than study more. Start by building things based on concrete objectives. You learn more by doing and experimenting. When you are stuck, come right here to AAC for guidance and solutions.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
If you have an AS or BS in electronics, your skill level should already be beyond that book.

The awkward attempts to use water analogies is a turn off to me. Anyone who needs that crutch needs to look for a different hobby.

Last edited:
I like it, even though it is very American. I mean, it's not an advanced theory book, it's more like first-second-year electronics degree for the lab or HND/FdEng (UK qualifications) level. For an actual electronics degree, you will need other books with more maths and more abstract theory.