Is my circuit ready to converted into PCB?

apo12

Joined Mar 5, 2023
Hello everyone, I hope you are having a great day.
I have a quick question.
I am new to custom PCB design and i want your opinion about a circuit i designed in order to control a sumo robot.
I have worked with those parts again and this is how i would connect them if i had to to it with wires.
But now i want to convert my circuit into a PCB.
Do you think i have to add anything extra to the circuit or it will be okay?
To better understand my question, for example when i look at off the shelf boards they have a capacitor for example and i am not sure why (https://www.jsumo.com/easyboard-v10-arduino-robot-controller-with-arduino-nano).
Thank you for your time.

circuit.png

Last edited by a moderator:

sagor

Joined Mar 10, 2019
You should put bypass capacitors between Vss , Vin and Vs to ground. Usually one puts 0.1 uF and a 1000pF between power and ground, as close to the device as possible. This is to reduce any electrical noise from reaching the device.

apo12

Joined Mar 5, 2023
You should put bypass capacitors between Vss , Vin and Vs to ground. Usually one puts 0.1 uF and a 1000pF between power and ground, as close to the device as possible. This is to reduce any electrical noise from reaching the device.
Thank you.
Is there any brief guide in order to decide what capacitors to use?
Do you think is 100uF ok?
c with caps.png

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Do you think is 100uF ok?
You can put one 100μF electrolytic on the board, but each IC needs a 0.1μF ceramic across its power pins.
A large electrolytic can suppress the lower frequency noise, but does not work as well for high frequencies, which the small ceramic capacitor does.

Also it would be good to build the PCB with a copper ground-plane for all the circuit grounds.

apo12

Joined Mar 5, 2023
You can put one 100μF electrolytic on the board, but each IC needs a 0.1μF ceramic across its power pins.