Inverted Schmitt Trigger with LDR

q12x

Joined Sep 25, 2015
I already have this circuit and working as it is.
With the following exceptions: R1 is 1k (not 10k),in my case ; Vcc=5V ; tested with general BJT NPN transistors that i have in my collection.

Right now, the Trigger is always high and gets low when i shadow LDR.
But I want it reversed now, meaning: I want the Trigger to be always low, and when I put my hand over LDR, Trigger to get high.
I've tried to find a solution for 2 weeks, with different transistor circuits and I had no luck. Im not an engineer in electronics, so be decent with me.
Thank you.

Last edited:

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
It's quite simple.
Just interchange the LDR and R2.

Youi likely want R2 to be a pot (say 100k) so you can adjust the sensitivity.

TeeKay6

Joined Apr 20, 2019
I already have this circuit and working as it is.
With the following exceptions: R1 is 1k (not 10k),in my case ; Vcc=5V ; tested with general BJT NPN transistors that i have in my collection.

Right now, the Trigger is always high and gets low when i shadow LDR.
But I want it reversed now, meaning: I want the Trigger to be always low, and when I put my hand over LDR, Trigger to get high.
I've tried to find a solution for 2 weeks, with different transistor circuits and I had no luck. Im not an engineer in electronics, so be decent with me.
Thank you.
Replace R2 with the LDR. Then experiment with R1 values until you get the response you want; the best value could anywhere in the range of 1K to 1Meg, depending on the LDR you are using and how much light is available.

q12x

Joined Sep 25, 2015
This is the circuit I have so far:
inverted Schmitt-Trigger with transistors.jpg
Again, I'm not an engineer in electronics, so be decent with me.
The Relay is there for the sound it makes, every time I interrupt the beam of light from LDR.