Interfacing with USB as a Host

AgentSmithers

Joined Jan 14, 2011
Hey Everyone! I am currently working on creating a USB Host project with the ESP8266 and have been reading a lot up on USB specifications. One thing I am having trouble finding is if the USB device connects with a low-speed connection then is the baud rate set to 1.5Mbps and then if connected at Highspeed to 12Mbps just to start sending my handshake and control packets?

AgentSmithers

Joined Jan 14, 2011
Interesting, I've worked with a few protocols. So USB transmitters like keyboards and flashdrives send these first 8/32bit sync packets at their own custom rate and USB server then see's the steady stream and adjust to that baud rate correct? Is there a range or specific recommended baud rate values as long as you don't go over the 1.2/12Mbps cap?

Wolframore

Joined Jan 21, 2019
I'm not an expert, the information appears to be available if you dig in... I would start looking at datasheets and the USB protocol.

USB 2.0 speed negotiation
USB 2.0 devices use a special protocol during reset, called chirping, to negotiate the high bandwidth mode with the host/hub. A device that is USB 2.0 High Speed capable first connects as a Full Speed device (D+ pulled high), but upon receiving a USB RESET (both D+ and D− driven LOW by host for 10 to 20 ms) it pulls the D− line high, known as chirp K. This indicates to the host that the device is high bandwidth. If the host/hub is also HS capable, it chirps (returns alternating J and K states on D− and D+ lines) letting the device know that the hub operates at high bandwidth. The device has to receive at least three sets of KJ chirps before it changes to high bandwidth terminations and begins high bandwidth signaling. Because USB 3.0 uses wiring separate and additional to that used by USB 2.0 and USB 1.x, such bandwidth negotiation is not required.

Clock tolerance is 480.00±0.24 Mbit/s, 12.00±0.03 Mbit/s, and 1.50±0.18 Mbit/s.