Inquiry, how to measure the amount of voltage, current, and resistance this device

Most Wish

Joined Mar 21, 2024
Hello!

I just want to ask how to measure the amount of voltage, current, and resistance in this device using an analog multimeter.
like I want to know the polarities of the probes, where to connect them, if they are connected in series or in parallel, and if the device should be turned ON or OFF.

Thank you for your responses!!MULTIMETER - 2.jpgMULTIMETER - 1.jpg

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
I just want to ask how to measure the amount of voltage, current, and resistance in this device using an analog multimeter.
like I want to know the polarities of the probes, where to connect them, if they are connected in series or in parallel, and if the device should be turned ON or OFF.
Is this schoolwork or a testt?

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
No, I am a newbie, and I just found this device in my father's storage room.
I don't see a rectifying diode in the circuit, but test points D and J are labeled ground, so you'd put the negative lead from the analog meter there for all of the measurements except for R and the LED. For those components, you'd put the negative lead on F and H, respectively.

I don't see any provisions for measuring current directly, so you'll have to use resistor values (are they given anywhere?) to calculate currents in each loop using Ohm's Law.

Could you post a picture of the test box from the top so we can see what's marked around the rotary switch?

EDIT: When you measure the resistor values, make sure there is no power applied to the box. You can't usually measure resistances in-circuit, but you can on that box with the switch opened. The capacitor will have to charge to be able to measure RL, so wait until the reading settles.

When using an analog meter, you set the range to the highest and go to lower settings as required. This will avoid "pegging" the needle which can damage the movement.