Indentifying a potential ground loop

Zurn

Joined Mar 4, 2019
Hey everyone, I'm working on this system that may or may not be suffering from ground loop problems. I'm VERY new to this kind of work, so new that I've yet to garner any experience identifying these sorts of common issues. Here's a block diagram of our system:

Doppler-Block-Diagram.jpg

All the Tx/Rx lines between the Red Pataya and the Transceiver are connected via coax cable. Everything "works" (the Red Pataya can send/receive signals to/from the transceiver) until we turn o the 15V power supply, in which case it call crashes (data stops sending/receiving). Everything is powered from the same power bar coming from a single AC outlet.

I've been doing quite a bit of research into ground looping. I see that it's common when connecting instruments via shielded coax cables. However, in this case, I don't see how it's possible to separate the 5V and 15V grounds, given they're tied together within the Transceiver circuitry. Furthermore, would optoisolators on the Tx/Rx lines (between the Red Pataya and Transceiver) really do anything, given their grounds are tied together via the Transceiver board anyways?

Posting on here in case there's something obvious to more experienced eyes. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Zurn

Joined Mar 4, 2019
Also, maybe someone could save me potentially blowing something up: what would happen if I just disconnected the ground connection from the 15V power supply? (The one on the supply side - not the AC side!). My thinking is the 15V signal would just go into the 5V ground via the Transceiver. But my thinking may also be way off base...