Increasing output current of smps with multiple darlington transistors

uraniumhexoflorite

Joined Oct 23, 2016
I've been working on a buck converter using an MC34063, but the output current is far lower than I need. I want to be able to pull at least 700 ma. I was able to get 70 ma without an external transistor. Yesterday, I set up an external transistor and increased the current to 150 ma. The external transistor I used is a TIP116. I was wondering if having another TIP116 would help to increase the current output more. Basically making a darlington transistor using darlington transistors. I apologize if this question seems a bit ridiculous, but I have very little experience with amplifiers. I have op amps aswell, but I'm not sure if they are what I should use. Thanks. :)

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
We need your exact circuit diagram to give an accurate answer. What is your switching frequency and what is the specification for the inductor that you are actually using?

Just guessing from what you said, I suspect that your inductor is not rated for high enough current and is saturating. The MC34063 by itself appears to be able to supply enough current without a buffer transistor.

Adding a Darlington transistor is not likely to help much. In fact it may make your problems worse because it drops more voltage when on and has a lower switching speed. At these low currents a non-Darlington transistor might help some.

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
How do I tell if the inductor is saturaring?
You need an oscilloscope. You monitor the current through the current sense resistor (Rsc in the examples in the data sheet).

This is best done by using two scope probes with the scope set for differential mode. Put one probe on each end of Rsc.
The waveform should be a linear ramp. If the waveform starts out as a ramp and then suddenly increases then the inductor is saturating.