Improvised Ballast for Coronavirus UV Lamp

Kdt

Joined Apr 6, 2020
Hi,

I met a doctor on Helpful Engineering who has no ballast for his UV sterilizing lamp, this one:
https://www.lighting.philips.com/ma...r-and-air/tuv-tl-mini/928001104013_EU/product
It is an 8W T5 tube. He is in India and has no way to get a proper ballast right now, so we're trying to improvise, but I have no practical experience in lighting and hoping for help to get the lamp working.

He has three ballasts:
1. 36W electronic ballast: https://www.bestofelectricals.com/philips-36-w-sumo-ultra-electronic-ballast
2. An old Anchor 18W ballast, can't find it online (see image). He says it is from a T8 lamp.
3. Old Chinese 21W electronic ballast (see image)
He also has assorted spare parts and tools. Since he only has one tube, we need to be careful not to ruin it.

I am thinking that the 36W ballast is a no go because that's just too much power. I know that you can try using a wrong ballast and it could work for some period of time, but I don't know how sensitive it is (10W ballast maybe ok for 8W tube, but 18W is pretty high).

So I want to ask for him:
1. How much range is there in the ballast you use for a given tube? Is one of the existing ballasts ok?
2. He could use the 18W or 21W ballast and add some series resistance to dissipate the excess power. Since the tube impedance changes during operation, is it possible to pick a constant resistance that would dissipate appropriate power across the range of lamp operation?
3. There is some voltage spike required to start the lamp, so I presume that a series resistance would divide the voltage too small to start the lamp while limiting current properly(?).
4. Could he add a resistance parallel to the tube divide current and dissipate power? This wouldn't change with the tube voltage, but, again, not sure how to calculate properly due to the tube's changing electrical parameters.