Import LTspice schematic into Eagle on Mac?

Thread Starter

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
17,152
I've never used Eagle before but I know my way around LTspice and I've created several LTspice schematics over the years. Another recent thread on PCB layout programs got me thinking that I should give that another try, so I downloaded Eagle.

How do I import one of my LTspice schematics into Eagle? This may be one of those annoying things not supported yet in the Mac version of Eagle. Apparently it's an easy button-click in Eagle on Windows?
 
Last edited:

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
16,091
I've never used Eagle before but I know my way around LTspice and I've created several LTspice schematics over the years. Another recent thread on PCB layout programs got me thinking that I should give that another try, so I downloaded Eagle.

How do I import one of my LTspice schematics into Eagle? This may be one of those annoying things not supported yet in the Mac version of Eagle. Apparently it's an easy button-click in Eagle on Windows?
This is going to be extraordinarily difficult because pin numbers in an LTSpice symbol have absolutely no connection with package pin numbers for most components. In particular there is no way to relate a gate symbol to a package unless you make it a hierarchical sub circuit. Gate symbols have no facility for identifying Vcc and GND. I think this is going to be a tall order.
 

Thread Starter

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
17,152
This is going to be extraordinarily difficult because pin numbers in an LTSpice symbol have absolutely no connection with package pin numbers for most components. In particular there is no way to relate a gate symbol to a package unless you make it a hierarchical sub circuit. Gate symbols have no facility for identifying Vcc and GND. I think this is going to be a tall order.
My understanding is that it's done routinely. There is a problem with custom models but Eagle reportedly has all the models that come with LTspice.
 

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
16,091
My understanding is that it's done routinely. There is a problem with custom models but Eagle reportedly has all the models that come with LTspice.
LTSpice does not have models for a TL084 quad opamp, or a 74LS08 with 4 AND gates. It may be possible to map the LTSpice symbols into package models but such automated tools may or may not produce acceptable results. Tell us when you find the routine way to do it.
 

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
11,088
It can be done, but it is not very good. Lots of bugs.

In Eagle go to: File>New>Schematic Then click on the LTSpice button in the tool bar at top >Import>Browse select and follow the commands. It comes up native with a grid, so I usually turn that off (View>Grid>Off).

Attached is an imported file from LTSpice. It's a bit touchy and don't expect every LTSpice schematic to import properly.

Edit: Added the .asc file I used for practice.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Thread Starter

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
17,152
I posted the question in the Autodesk forum for EAGLE, and received this reply. :confused: At least it's a clear answer.

EAGLE used to have an LTSpice import, but that has been deprecated ever since we implemented simulation into EAGLE itself.

At this point the best approach is to just redraw the schematic in EAGLE.​
Let me know if there's anything else I can do for you.​
Best Regards,​

Jorge Garcia
Product Support Specialist for Fusion 360 and EAGLE​
 

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
12,871
I use an old version of Eagle from 2004 (4.13r1) that doesn't have simulation and it doesn't have a netlist import option.

EDIT: Maybe it does. When I was checking to see if I had more old versions, I noticed a program named xconvert.exe and it appears to be for converting other netlists to Eagle scripts. I'll get an LTspice netlist from another computer and try it.
 
Last edited:

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
16,091
I posted the question in the Autodesk forum for EAGLE, and received this reply. :confused: At least it's a clear answer.

EAGLE used to have an LTSpice import, but that has been deprecated ever since we implemented simulation into EAGLE itself.​
At this point the best approach is to just redraw the schematic in EAGLE.​
Let me know if there's anything else I can do for you.​
Best Regards,​
Jorge Garcia​
Product Support Specialist for Fusion 360 and EAGLE​
I just love the word "deprecated". I first encountered it more than 40 years ago. It is just so non-confrontational and ordinary. It doesn't have the same feeling as "prohibited", or "unsupported", or "gone".
 

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
12,871
LTspice netlist format wasn't supported.

D:\Misc>xconvert /h
Netlist Coverter XCONVERT 3.0 , Copyright CadSoft 1994

Usage: XCONVERT -ORCAD|-TANGO|-SUSIE|-SCHEMA|-PADS source_netlist eagle_netlist
 

Thread Starter

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
17,152
I just love the word "deprecated". I first encountered it more than 40 years ago. It is just so non-confrontational and ordinary.
It's interesting that computer nerds use something you'd expect to come from an English teacher. Maybe a nerd used a thesaurus to find a synonym for whatever word they had been using before.

I can't help but read it as "defecated". Intentionally purged, not by accident or neglect.
 

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
16,091
It's interesting that computer nerds use something you'd expect to come from an English teacher. Maybe a nerd used a thesaurus to find a synonym for whatever word they had been using before.

I can't help but read it as "defecated". Intentionally purged, not by accident or neglect.
Actually it was from an early "open source" project. Tiny-C compiler if I recall correctly.
 

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
8,381
It's interesting that computer nerds use something you'd expect to come from an English teacher. Maybe a nerd used a thesaurus to find a synonym for whatever word they had been using before.

I can't help but read it as "defecated". Intentionally purged, not by accident or neglect.
It fits perfectly with modern computer technology.

Avert by prayer.
https://latin-dictionary.net/definition/16803/depreco-deprecare-deprecavi-deprecatus

Bless again this day the mysterious computer which awaits your power and my human effort. Grant wisdom, knowledge and a clear memory to my mind as I sit before this new creature of your infinite power. Bless my heart with endless patience whenever needed. Guide my hands that I may be your faithful servant in every key I press. Enable my limited efforts to bring glory to your Name and blessings to your people everywhere.Delete me not from your Kingdom and save me from all fear and from all error of sin and ignorance.


https://www.archmil.org/Our-Faith/Prayers/computer-users.htm
 

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
16,091
It fits perfectly with modern computer technology.

Avert by prayer.
https://latin-dictionary.net/definition/16803/depreco-deprecare-deprecavi-deprecatus

Bless again this day the mysterious computer which awaits your power and my human effort. Grant wisdom, knowledge and a clear memory to my mind as I sit before this new creature of your infinite power. Bless my heart with endless patience whenever needed. Guide my hands that I may be your faithful servant in every key I press. Enable my limited efforts to bring glory to your Name and blessings to your people everywhere.Delete me not from your Kingdom and save me from all fear and from all error of sin and ignorance.


https://www.archmil.org/Our-Faith/Prayers/computer-users.htm
In vino veritas
 
Top