I'm new and need help for my IR project

reychirino

Joined Aug 5, 2015
This is my first post here and I'm new to electronics eventhough I have many ideas that I want to develop.
Also english is not my main language so I apologize for any misundersanting that may arise.
The idea is to setup a group of IR LEDs on a wall and direct the light in one direction creating an invisible wall
For this project I need a "bright" IR light source that can be detected at least 10 ft away and a detector that will make a buzzer sound indicating the IR "wall" presence.
Researching for this project brought me to this forum and I hope you don't mind me "picking up" a little your braind and save some time
Thanks in advance

reychirino

Joined Aug 5, 2015
Sorry :-( I forgot to ask!
Thanks mcgyvr for your quick response. The instructable article is one from where I got my inspiration for this project :)

I want the light to be like a "wall" of light not to illuminate the whole room. Let say it would illuminate 2" - 4" wide of the wall in front of the LED, from the ceiling to the floor.

I want to build the detector by myself but for now I'm interested to know what kind of IR LED should I use as IR light source?
How many IR LED I would need for a 8' to 10' wall?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I want the light to be like a "wall" of light not to illuminate the whole room. Let say it would illuminate 2" - 4" wide of the wall in front of the LED, from the ceiling to the floor.
Light doesn't work like that. Have you ever tried to make a cube of visible light with no side walls to contain it? IR works the same way. It radiates in every direction. If you want a column of IR light, you will have to start with a container to limit the escape of the energy towards the sides of the area. The only kind of "one direction only" light is a laser, and you will be bankrupted to coat the whole wall with IR lasers.

Please consider your idea for requirements that can actually be accomplished.

reychirino