I need help identifying this micro component on my Dell motherboard.

Stan83

Joined Jan 21, 2022
Hello pro's, first time threader. I'm no expert, so I come here to seek guidance.

I have spent 7 hours straight trying to find data sheets, pinouts, anything at all that can identify my dell g7 7588 that just blew what I'm guessing maybe.... like a optocoupler??? But seriously guys, I depend on this 2018 laptop, it's powerful enough to handle my day to day. I have kept her going like an old Ford Taurus, and now I seek guidance from good people helping people out. Any info you can give me, anything I can do to repair, replace and sources of where I can find the schematics I need to bring "ol betty" back to life. Thank you all so much and I look forward

Attachments

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
You're wasting your time. In order to effect a repair to a board at the component level you need access to things you just don't have.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
US2 certainly looks as though it let out the magic smoke. Does it still have any legible identifying markings on it (the images aren't sharp enough to tell)? If not, your best hope is to find a good clear image of another motherboard in a comparable Dell PC and get the data from that. Failing that, IF it is indeed an opto-coupler and IF its parameters aren't critical you might get away with using a non-OEM opto-coupler as a replacement.
The question is, though, what caused the component to fail? Unless you can eliminate the cause then any replacement may suffer the same fate.

Stan83

Joined Jan 21, 2022