I need help designing a resistor sequencer.

elframbo

Joined Aug 20, 2016
Hello,

I'm new to electronics and have started modding guitar effects pedals. I
need help designing a circuit that will sequence out three resistors. The pedal has a specific resistor that controls gain potential in the circuit.

I did join the modding community forum as well and someone was nice enough to give me this design.

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w114/quackzed/resistor sequencer_zpsivld4dme.png

This circuit will be allowing the three resistors from the 4066 chip to switch in and out of the circuit at a controlable rate. I tried to build this on breadboard and used LEDs in place of the resistors R1,2, and 3 that were leading out of the 4066 chip. It did not work and I'm not sure if it was because of using the LEDs or if thee was an issue with the breadboard, a component, or if the design is not a working one.

This lead me to look at LED sequencers, which have a very simple design, but I'm not sure how to connect those into my pedal's existing circuit. And I'm not sure it would even work properly because instead of LEDs I would use resistors.

To sum up, the effects pedal has an option to mod out resistor R10 in the pedals existing circuit. I will be removing R10 and would like to replace it with a circuit that will automatically vary the resistance across the point where R10 used to be at a controlable rate.

I hope this makes sense, as I said I am new to this. Any help is much appreciated.

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
The success of using a 4066 to switch resistors depends some what on resistor values. If I remember correctly,
the contact resistance is around 160 ohms so if using multi k resistors there should be no problem. I am currently using a 4066 to switch 3- 10 k pots to control a 555 used as a servo driver. Your circuit looks good.

elframbo

Joined Aug 20, 2016