Huge Hot Wire cutter

paradauz

Joined Oct 27, 2019
Hi, I'm here with a rather weird question. I'm just a beginner, and I got involved with a small plane construction project, for which we'll need 2x2 meters hot wire cutter that we are designing. I was doing some research on what gauge wire will fit this purpose the best, and do some calculations to understand what power source should be chosen. But since the size is so big, I can't find info about the appropriate diameter of the wire that needs to be selected as well as calculations for the power source. We'll need to cut 1.5x1.7 blocks of extruded polystyrene (XPS) to make the ribs od the wings.
In my opinion, we should use a 20-24 gauge wire with resistance 1-4 Ohms/ft respectively, and 24V source, which will require a ridiculous amount of current.
Could you please give any ideas on how to optimize the design/do the calculations or what components to choose. Any suggestions or ideas would be very appreciated.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What do you mean by "a ridiculous amount of current"?

It is not about how much current. It is about power.
You can calculate power by using any one of the three formulas:

P = V x V / R
P = I x I x R
P = I x V

Make sure the power supply can provide the desired amount of power.

paradauz

Joined Oct 27, 2019
What do you mean by "a ridiculous amount of current"?

It is not about how much current. It is about power.
You can calculate power by using any one of the three formulas:

P = V x V / R
P = I x I x R
P = I x V

Make sure the power supply can provide the desired amount of power.
Alright then, for example, if I want to use 26 gauge Nichrome 60 wire(2.67 Ohms/ft) I'd need P = (24x24)/(2,67) = 215 W, and I = 215/24 = 8.9 A. Do I not need to account for the length of the wire?
And if so, what would be the best gauge to choose, so it would be strong enough for 2m and easy enough to heat up.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What? You did not include the length of the wire?