How to use an Op Amp to pull an IC Pin low

KMD

Joined Sep 10, 2015
I'm a newbie, so thanks in advance for any and all help.

I'm working with my first IC chip (ADG436) in order to create an auto switching audio project. In order for the switch to work, a particular pin must be forced low. This is a 5v project.

Primary/default input is a music player (MP3 player, cell phone, etc.).

Secondary input is a handheld walkie talkie. That input will only be activated when there is an incoming transmission. In order for the secondary input to be triggered, pins 1 and 9 of the ADG436 need to be pulled low. I'm trying to use the presence of voltage on the speaker output (3.7v) to somehow trigger the switching.

The diagram that I have attached was a crude attempt by me as a newbie to figure something out. I simply tried to use an NPN transistor as a switch.... and it works.... but only if I take the base to 5v (power rail?). The 3.7v coming out of the speaker does not seem to be enough to make it switch. I've been told that I should use an Op Amp, but I have no idea how to make that happen. Still reading, but struggling to figure it out.

Can someone walk me through this?

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Why is the speaker output exactly 3.7V?
Is that audio (AC)?

You need a 10kΩ resistor from the collector of the resistor to +5V, and a resistor in series with the transistor base (try 10kΩ) for it to work properly as a switch.
Note that a transistor in that configuration works as a inverter, so when the input is high, the output will be low (transistor ON).

Last edited:

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013