How to use a PNP with a 12v battery?

James55

Joined May 29, 2016
Hi all.

Please forgive me if this is a simple answer but I am still learning about transistors.

My question is, "What would be a simple way to create a PNP Base/Emitter voltage of 5 volts, whilst using a 12 volt battery?"

With 12v across an NPN, an LM7805 could do the job, but I was wondering how about when a PNP Collector/Emitter voltage is 12v?

James

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Hi all.

Please forgive me if this is a simple answer but I am still learning about transistors.

My question is, "What would be a simple way to create a PNP Base/Emitter voltage of 5 volts, whilst using a 12 volt battery?"

With 12v across an NPN, an LM7805 could do the job, but I was wondering how about when a PNP Collector/Emitter voltage is 12v?

James
There are many possibilities but we’d need more info to make a choice. Let’s start with why you need that voltage. The transistor will turn on at 11.3V and you’ll need to limit the base current to avoid burning up the transistor.

A schematic would save a lot of questions.

Last edited:

k7elp60

Joined Nov 4, 2008
Hi all.

James
I am not sure what you mean. In a normal configuration of a transistor in the conducting mode the base to emitter voltage is very close to 0.6V. The polarity depends on which type in use NPN or PNP.

ScottWang

Joined Aug 23, 2012
You will need a 6.2V zener, and you should in series with the PNP as below:
Vin E(P) → C(P) Vout
Vin B(N) → (-)6.2V Zd(+) → C(P) Vout
0.7V = Vbe
Vo = 12V - (0.7V+6.2V) = 5.1V

The output voltage of this kind of simple PNP circuit will be have a little changing when the draw current of load is changing.

Last edited:

James55

Joined May 29, 2016
Thanks for the replies.

It was more just a theoretical question, however I can't seem to upload a schematic.