How to pick the correct fuse?

redgear

Joined Oct 17, 2019
It's my first time trying to build a electronic product and I am not sure on how to pick the right fuse for my application.
The nominal current consumed by load is 1.2A and peak inrush current is 21A for 185 micro seconds. There is also a power supply that draws 0.15A of AC current with a inrush current of 40A, but I am not sure about the time until which it lasts for. I have been trying to select the right fuse to use. Finally, a microcontroller, 7 segment display and a relay, I am planning to go with a 1A fast acting fuse for this, would this be fine?

I read Little Fuse's guide . Going by the step, I will need to calculate the value of \( i^2t \) to properly select the fuse. The guide also give different waveshapes for inrush current and forumlas, I went with the formula that would give me the highest value since I do not have an idea about my inrush current waveshape. Here is the calculation :
\[ i^2t = \frac12*21^2*0.000185 = 0.0407 \]
For 100,000 pulse cycles:
\[ 0.0407/0.22 = 0.1854 \]

So I should select a fuse with a current rating of 2A and a \( i^2t \) value greater than or equal to 0.185, is that correct?

How do I calculate the fuse for power supply where I do not know the inrush current timing? And will a 1A fast acting fuse be a good choice for the micro controller block?

How do I choose the main fuse(the fuse as soon as the power from mains enter)? Do I just add up the values of individual fuses to get the fuse rating and keep the i2t the maximum value from the individual fuses?

Thanks

Deleted member 115935

Joined Dec 31, 1969
It's my first time trying to build a electronic product and I am not sure on how to pick the right fuse for my application.