How to drive a push power with a power drill

lvlikeyv

Joined Apr 4, 2020
I started a project of repurposing a cheap Hyper Tough 20V drill to power a manual reel mower.
Using only the drill components, the system is working and has already mowed my lawn and worked pretty well.

Improvements:
1. I'm not a huge fan of the motor (little power) and has a really weird mount when removed from the plastic drill housing. I also noticed a small crack in the mounting flange on the drill so I'm guessing it is going to break in the next couple of uses. The question is, what kind of DC motor should I get? I've had my eye on this one, but not sure if it is appropriate, as the title states, I'm new to the electronics game. (But having a blast so far) This motor also looks a lot easier to mount. I realize I'm not going to get gasoline mower type power, but I'm curious if anyone has something better in mine.
https://www.banggood.com/DC-24V-100...s=detail-left-hotproducts__8&cur_warehouse=CN

2. The drill has a variable trigger which makes it hard to keep a constant steady speed when walking and turning corners. I started looking into DC motor speed control and came across a potentiometer but quickly learned that pots are mainly used for low current circuits and had a smoking pot on my hand (HAHA). I then came across PWM which seems to be the best route for controlling the motors speed. I currently have my eye on this PWM controller. The plan is to zip tie the drill trigger fully engaged and use the PWM to control the speed with the dial. Does anyone have any thoughts on this method of this PWM controller?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B081NJVXY1/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Sorry if I posted too many pictures, but I figured they would provide a lot better insight on my setup and what I'm trying to accomplish.
DSCF1082.JPG
DSCF1083.JPGDSCF1084.JPGDSCF1089.JPG
DSCF1082.JPGDSCF1083.JPGDSCF1084.JPGDSCF1089.JPG

lvlikeyv

Joined Apr 4, 2020