How to discharge a capacitor at a given voltage

Mark Flint

Joined Jun 11, 2017
I am collecting voltage spikes (not constant current) in a 50v 40,000 microfarad capacitor, and I want to discharge this cap into a 24v battery when the voltage in the cap rises to 32v. Once discharged I want to start the cap charge-discharge cycle again, and loop this process indefinitely.

I have done something similar with an SCR triggered by a diode. However this was discharging at approx 13v into a 12v battery, and only 10 microfarads - and I didn't really understand how that worked.

How do I specify the correct SCR and how do I trigger it for this voltage (32v)?

If there is a more efficient way than the SCR please feel free to explain. (I am not very experienced in electronics.)

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
I don't quite understand what you are trying to do?
An SCR (Silicon Controlled Rectifier) is a controllable medium- to high-power self-latching solid-state DC power switch. This article explains its basic operation and shows some practical ways of using it. Once we gate on and SCR in a DC circuit as you describe it will act as a closed switch. The SCR will not open until power is removed.
The only applications where I have seen a capacitor charged to well above a battery voltage and discharged into a battery were to try and remove internal shorts in a NICAD type battery. So what exactly is the objective here? I do not see an SCR behaving the way I see you wanting it to.

Ron

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
As I understand, you are trying to transfer the energy from the capacitor into the battery.
This can indeed be done with a SCR between the battery and capacitor, with a comparator to trigger the SCR when the battery voltage reaches 32V.
When the transfer is complete (capacitor drops to 24V) and the current drops to zero, the SCR will reset for another cycle.