How Multiple Components Talk to One Another (I2C, UART, etc)

sjdean

Joined Nov 5, 2019
If I say Im a beginner at Electronics, but I see all the schematic design people and PCB builders in China and India etc. I've got ideas, but not much clue how to turn them into reality.

My project at the moment is essentially a modular Car PC - and I've got this working two Raspberry Pi's.

I have a "Head Unit" which has a DAC, a GPS (connected via USB) and an SDR dongle also connected via USB. It runs RaspbianOS and OpenAuto to provide an Android Auto interface.

The second raspberry pi or "Can Collector" has a CAN BUS hat, collects information from the Can Bus, and broadcasts to the Head Unit raspberry Pi to process the data and upload to the cloud where I can then run telemetry.

Im using Cat 5 cable, USB to USB C cables, USB to Micro USB cables, and my own cables using the Molex ML-XT series connectors.

But I thought wouldn't it be nice to build this from the ground up.

The biggest thing is replacing the Raspberry Pi and bringing in the same information.

So I thought I should split the project into two.

The Head Unit (v1) will be basically be an interface to the Raspberry Pi - perhaps connecting over USB or some other technology. It will have a GPS and an RTC in order to set the time on the raspberry pi. It will need two USB connections for connecting a USB-C device (mobile phone) and should support fast charging. It will have a relay to take a Permanent 12v and an Accessory 12v in order to switch itself on when a current is applied to the Accessory 12v. I'll also need two 3.1a 5v outputs (one Micro USB, one USB-C) to power a Raspberry PI 4 and the official touch screen. The USB-C output should be delayed slightly after the screen.

Head Unit v2 will add two perhaps three SDR chips, a DAC and a MosFet amplifier, will need a 7 inch touch screen, WiFi, Bluetooth and a Microphone Connection and will replace the Raspberry Pi. It will also need one CAN interface.