How does this circuit work / What's its function? (PNP transistors array)

jkcobain

Joined Jun 8, 2014
Hello guys, I need help to find out the function of this circuit. I'm studying the MDB protocol and I found this schematic that I don't understand. I simulated it in proteus, and the output voltage is always zero, either the input is low or high (or probably I'm simulating wrongly). Here it is:

It is part of a serial communication, where (5) is the signal out for the peripheral. And the resistor in the left side comes from the master Tx.

Based on my knowledge, and the other part of the circuit (https://www.namanow.org/images/pdfs/technology/mdb_version_4-2.pdf page 60), I would think it is a kind of pull down resistor, but as I said before, I don't understand the function, and (5) is always zero. I hope you guys can help me.

Thank you very much in advance!!

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
This circuit acts as a logic inverter with current limiting. If the output is shorted to ground no harm is done to the inverter.

By the way, it is always best to show your the exact circuit you have a question about. In this case, someone will be able to help you learn why your simulation does not work.

jkcobain

Joined Jun 8, 2014
Thank you RichardO! I'm going to read something about that function and hopefully I understand the circuit!

My simulation in proteus:

(Since I didn't even know nor imagine the function, I picked the resistors based on an internet circuit for the same application.)

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
Now I see. You need to replace your switch with a square wave the goes from 0 volts to 5 volts. This will give a square wave across the 20K resistor.

With R1 equal to 12 ohms the current will limit at about 0.66 volts /12 ohms = 56ma. If you lower R3 to a smaller value such as 100 ohms, the output voltage will drop. Since the current is limited, the output voltage would be 100 ohms * 56ma = 0.56 volts.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008