How do I use a drill motor?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by superspyn, Apr 16, 2019.

1. superspyn

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 16, 2019
    i recently got a drill and wanted to take it apart to remove the motor. How many volts do i need? Tried 12, biggest battery i have. I'm a complete noob.

2. djsfantasi

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 11, 2010
    I can’t help wonder, before you dissembled the drill, what was the supply voltage?

spinnaker likes this.
  3. superspyn

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 16, 2019
    It was 120v AC, How many volts DC, would there be a difference? It is a universal motor.

4. Yaakov

Jan 27, 2019
    It will require 120V to run at it's rated specifications, though it might run slower at less. It will still be more than 1/10 the expected voltage.

5. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009

My question would be why on earth would someone take apart a new drill.

My second question would be why would someone take apart a good 120Vdrill expecting it to some how be magically transformed to a DC motor.

And my third question., why not buy a DC motor in the first place an avoid all of the hassle?

Last edited: Apr 16, 2019
    OBW0549 and djsfantasi like this.
  6. djsfantasi

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 11, 2010
    So basically, dependent on the application, it is unlikely that this motor will do what you expect. Running at a DC voltage less than 120VDC will result in slower RPM and provide less torque.

@spinnaker is a wise man. Please respond to his post.

7. narkeleptk

Mar 11, 2019
  8. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    It will however run on 120v DC, seeing as it is a Universal motor.
    Return the drill and exchange for a portable version.
    Max.

shortbus likes this.
  9. AlbertHall

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 4, 2014