How do I calculate gate current volts?

kenw232

Joined May 18, 2009
I'm a novice. I'd like to know how to measure and calculate the current & volts which trigger a mosfet or SCR gate in a schematic like the one attached. A signal comes in to the opamp and sends the output high, this switches the transistor Q1 and it triggers the gate of the SCR. Is the voltmeter placed from the Point A to B properly placed to measure the voltage that ends up being applied to the gate? By experiment it reads 880mV.

How do I calculate the amps and volts so I can cross check it by experiment. For example If I = V/R, then current = 5V/150 = 33mA. Should the ammeter show 33mA being applied to the gate?

Can the base of Q1 (from the opamp) change the 5V from the power supply? I might not be getting a full 5V to resistor R5 correct?

Attachments

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Ohm's Law requires the use of the voltage ACROSS a resistance and the current THROUGH a resistance. You can't just grab a convenient V and a convenient R and use them to get an I that has any meaning.

Once you fire the SCR in this circuit, what will ever cause it to shut off?

Your voltage meter is only going to show you the voltage across the ammeter terminals, which should be very low (it would ideally be zero).

When you inject current into the gate it looks a lot like a transistor base-emitter characteristic with a slightly higher Vbe. A gate-cathode voltage of 800mV is pretty common.

kenw232

Joined May 18, 2009
Ohm's Law requires the use of the voltage ACROSS a resistance and the current THROUGH a resistance. You can't just grab a convenient V and a convenient R and use them to get an I that has any meaning.
Thats why I asked if 5V/150 = 33mA was correct.

So how do I measure with a voltmeter the voltage applied to the gate? Do I measure the voltage across R5 (eg. 4V), then subtract that from the supply voltage of 5V, so it would be 1V being applied to the gate?

Joined Nov 30, 2010