How current ADC's work

sharanbr

Joined Apr 13, 2009
I am pretty new to Analog. I have exposure in Digital.

I assume, regular ADC's take voltage as input and digitize that at the output. I would like to know how current ADC's work.
I am seeing a datasheet from TI and I am seeing reference to integrator as the first stage before ADC stage.
http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/sbas370a/sbas370a.pdf

Kindly share your comments.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Did you see "General Description" or "Basic Integration Cycle"?

Did you read them?

If not, please do and then ask for clarification on what you don't understand.

That A/D is specialized. You might take a look here: http://www.chem.purdue.edu/courses/chm621/lecture/electronics/8.7 Gated Integration.pdf for general info on gated integration and what it's used for. A pico-couloumb is a very small quantity of charge to measure.

With one set-up I did, i had to measure very small currents near the resolution of the instrument (an Electrometer), so i would typically put the instrument in charge mode, then zero it and then take a reading 30 sec later and divide by the time. 1-2 pA became much easier to measure.
1 pA = 1E-12 Amps.

sharanbr

Joined Apr 13, 2009
Dear WBahn, KeepitSimpleStupid,

let me apologize if my question was confusing. My intention is not to understand how the specific chip from TI works.
I have seen regular ADC where voltage is measured or converted but I have generally not seen current ADC.
That's when I searched and found the TI chip.

Definitely, I don't want to get into intricacies of integrator unless it is necessary to even appreciate current ADC.
I hope I have clarified my position clearly now.

Having said that, I continued my search and what I have inferred so far is that in order to implement current ADC, the following scheme is followed. This is very simplistic view though: